Shree Swaminarayan Temple

Karelibaug - Vadodara | Kundaldham

Temples of Swaminarayan Sect

Temples in Hindu religion is a path for attaining moksha (salvation) for many souls and is a place of faith. Temples have many purposes and guidelines. Belief of true image form (Sakar) of God and devotion is maintained through temples. Soul gets nourishment for Dharma (religion), Gyan (knowledge), Vairagya (detachment) and Bhakti (devotion) = Ekantik dharma (profound religion) through association with saints residing in temples. Ultimate salvation is attainable. Thousands of people accomplish moral values and attain peace through temples. Temple is a true place for entire society for faith and assurance during happiness and sadness.

swaminarayan 6 dham temples

To establish Dharma (righteousness) on the entire earth, instil firm determination of His true form and give true happiness to His devotees of His divine image (murti), Shree Swaminarayan Bhagwan made three heartful intentions (Sankalp). 1. Build temples and install divine Murtis, 2. Establish Aacharyas and 3. Produce scriptures to portray the greatness of Swaminarayan sect. His intention behind building temples was;

Mandir Karavu Mota Ati, Murtiyo Besaru Maay;
Sugam Sahu Narnaarne, Puje sparshe Laage Paay.

“I should make grand temples and install divine Murtis inside, so that all males and females can comfortably pray by touching His lotus feet.”

Shree Swaminarayan Bhagwan built six grand temples during His divine presence, approximately 200 years ago, in which He Himself installed the divine Murtis. These temples are located in various villages/towns in the state of Gujarat, India. Shree Swaminarayan Bhagwan instructed Aacharyas to install divine Murtis through Vedic mantra and ceremony (Vidhi). Hence, divine images in Swaminarayan sect are now installed by Aacharyas in various towns, cities and worldwide countries through Vedic ceremony.

Town, Main Deity and Deity installation date of six temples built by Shree Swaminarayan Bhagwan:

TownMain DeityDeity Installation date
AhmedabadShree Narnarayan Dev
Vikram Samvat (VS) 1878 Fagun sud 3rd
BhujShree Narnarayan DevVS 1879 Vaisakh sud 5th
VadtalShree Laxminarayan DevVS 1881 Kartak sud 12th
DholeraShree Madanmohanji MaharajVS 1882 Vaisakh sud 13th
JunagadhShree Radharaman DevVS 1884 Vaisakh sud 2nd
GadhpurShree Gopinathji MaharajVS 1885 Aaso sud 12th